Close this search box.

Cyclocross team in 2020

On 1st of January 2020, Quinten Hermans and Corné van Kessel were the first riders to plunge in the mud with the colors of Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert.

Quite soon, the two pro riders were accompanied by younger teammates, who quickly rose to the top with the coaching of the Wellens brothers. In the junior women’s category, British rider Zoe Bäckstedt conquered both the European and World title in a season during which she was unbeaten in her category. Also in the men’s U23 category the rainbow jersey, Belgian national jersey and silver medals in both events were handed over to Tormans Cyclo Cross Team thanks to exemplary teamwork of Joran Wyseure and Emiel Verstrynge.

During the same winter, Quinten Hermans benefited from a well studied programme, divided between cyclocross events and road races with Intermarché-Wanty Gobert, namely his first ever World Cup victory in Fayetteville, a silver medal at the European championships and ten podium finishes.

At the end of 2022, during the third season of the team, national champions Kevin Kuhn and Marie Schreiber grew under the wings of the Wellens brothers to fixed values in the top ten of the most prestigious elite races. The second successive European title in a row in the women’s junior category of youngest team member Lauren Molengraaf rewarded once more the focus on youth development and scouting.

GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner